iNEMI’s Call-for-Participation Webinar: PCB Characterization for CAF and ECM Failure Mitigation Project


Reading time ( words)

CAF (conductive anodic filament) failures are an electrochemical migration (ECM) process that causes short circuits in PCBs. iNEMI’s Characterization for CAF and ECM Failure Mitigation project will assess several areas of concern related to CAF failure: (1) scaling and integration of laser and mechanical drill features, (2) incoming quality measures of glass/resin systems, and (3) manufacturing process factors that may limit future targets and demands. The project plans to:

  • Lower design reliability risk through characterization and study of focused incoming material and process factors driving CAF.
  • Enable pitch scaling and higher density board technologies and identify high risk PCB technology features. 
  • Develop a better understanding of CAF through hardware failure analysis and build awareness of failure mechanisms.
  • Enable predictive methodologies for laser and mechanical drill features.
  • Reduce product qualification costs and associated timescales.

Registration

Join our information webinar September 7 or 8 to learn more about this project and how it can benefit your company. Two sessions are scheduled (with the same content) and are open to industry. Advance registration is required. For additional information, visit iNEMI's website. 

Session 1
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
8:00-9:00 a.m. PDT (US)
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. EDT (US)
5:00-6:00 p.m. CEST (Europe)

Session 2
Thursday, September 8
7:00-8:00 a.m. CST (China)
4:00-5:00 p.m. PDT (US) on September 7
7:00-8:00 p.m. EDT (US) on September 7

Share




Suggested Items

Catching up with John Johnson, New Director of Business Development at ASC

09/28/2022 | Dan Beaulieu, D.B. Management Group
It’s always good to catch up with old friends, especially when you can start working together. This is the case with my friend John Johnson, who has joined American Standard Circuits. I caught up with John to see what he has planned for ASC, where he will, in part, be using the Averatek A-SAP process that he was previously involved with. John shares some of his background, and talks about the best ways to use this semi-additive process PCB fabrication process that opens the capability window for forming trace and space. This process enables ultra-fine lines.

The Brave New World of the CTO

09/21/2022 | I-Connect007 Editorial Team
In this conversation with the I-Connect007 Editorial Team, Alex Stepinski shares his insight on how to automate the PCB fab. Spoiler alert: It doesn’t start with new equipment and panel handlers; it’s much more strategic than that. Alex details the new role of a chief technology officer in the 21st century and cautions that we don’t have nearly enough of them in the industry. The focus, he says, should be on statements of work rather than so much on skilled labor. He also hopes this is just the beginning of more important conversations like these.

Plating on Silver: What’s Old is New Again

07/07/2022 | Denis Jacques, Technic Inc.
About three decades ago, immersion silver, a nitrate-based process, gained a lot of market share in the world of PCB final finishes. More economical than ENIG, flat, solderable, and conductive, it had everything going for it—everything but corrosion resistance in a harsh environment, that is. Champagne voids were also an issue, along with line reduction. But the worst drawback, the characteristic that made the part short over time, was creep corrosion. A build-up of copper sulfide salt that grows in contact with a sulfur-rich environment, heat, and moisture resulted in failures in the field. This was enough to scar the process for good.



Copyright © 2022 I-Connect007. All rights reserved.